Martin Isark has tasted Gluten-Free beer – should you put it in the trolley or leave it on the shelf?

I’ve tasted gluten free beer – should you put a bottle in the trolley or leave it on the shelf?  The below may help you make the right choice.

The gluten-free beer facts:

To be labelled as a gluten-free beer it has to contain less than 10ppm of gluten.  The beer can be made from either non-gluten or gluten containing ingredients.

The Ingredients:

Non-gluten containing ingredients:  buckwheat, sorghum, rice, maize, corn, sunflower, amaranth, flax, millet, quinoa, teff, wild rice, soybean, ragi and rape.

Gluten containing cereals: barley, wheat, kamut, oats, rye, triticale and spelt.

The brewing process:

Non-gluten ingredients follow a similar brewing process to regular beers.

However, when brewing from traditional gluten containing cereals they are de-glutened either thru or at the end of the brewing process.  Either way the gluten levels in the finished beer have to be below 10ppm to be labelled Gluten-Free.

The taste? Unlike most de-alcoholised beers and wines there is little taste difference between the gluten and the non-gluten beers.

Should you put a bottle in the trolley?  If you are a Coeliac or just want to avoid gluten, then two beers below are a must try and buy. Yes – put them in the trolley.

The Can I Eat It? iPhone App has many Gluten-Free products for you to scan.  Try the app now:

Not Forgetting:

Barcode: 5060084570849

Glebe Farm Pathfinder Gluten Free Ale
This gluten-free amber ale delivers a mellow malty aroma and flavour that comes finished with a spiky hop lick. Will be enjoyed by all beer-drinkers, not just those avoiding gluten!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: