Adding & Removing Ingredients

So that the app can be a helpful tool to other users –  you require you to be 100% sure when adding or removing potential allergens, the information below will help you make the correct choice when Adding or Removing Ingredients.

Alcohol: Beer,wine & spirits, beware of alcoholic soft drinks, Crabbie’s alcoholic ginger beer, for example. Also check the ingredient list, chocolates, desserts, soups, jams sometimes contain alcohol.  Unsure leave it!

Barley: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Rye: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Spelt: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Wheat: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Gluten: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Oats: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Beef Gelatine: Found in the ingredient list. Confectionery and dairy products often contain gelatine.

Fish Gelatine: Found in the ingredient list.

Pork Gelatine: Found in the ingredient list. Confectionery and dairy products, for example yogurt, often contain gelatine.

Gelatine: Found in the ingredient list. Confectionery and dairy products often contain gelatine.  Some producers don’t list the origin of the Gelatine!

Caffeine: Found in the ingredient list. Chocolate, Tea, Coffee don’t list as containing caffeine, but they do. Of course if decaffeinated they DON’T.

Celery/Celeriac: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Crustaceans: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.  For example: prawns, crabs, lobsters, shrimps…

Molluscs: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.  For example: mussels, clams, oysters…

Fish: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Egg: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Garlic: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Honey: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice. NOT Honeydew, Honeybush, Honeybuns, honeycomb chocolate,

Milk: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.  Only milk from animals. NOT from soya, coconuts, fruit or nuts!

Lactose: Unless listed as Lactofree all products from animal milk contain Lactose.

Lupin: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Pork: Found in the Ingredient list.

Meat: Found in the Ingredient list.  All animal meat except Pork.

Mustard: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Peanuts: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.  NOT tree nuts, for example, hazelnuts and cashew nuts.

Nuts: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.  Just tree nuts, NOT Peanuts or Pine Nuts.

Onions: Found in the Ingredient list.

Sulphites/Sulphur: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Sweeteners: Found in the Ingredient list.

Sesame/Seeds: Found in the Ingredient list and under Allergy Advice.

Yeast: Found in the Ingredient list. Unfortunately, most booze producers don’t list the ingredients of alcoholic drinks, but wine and beer does contain yeast!  

Adding and removing may contain ingredients

All May Contain allergens will be found at bottom of the ingredient list or under the allergy advice heading.

Founder: Martin Isark, Food & Drink Journalist, Taster & Author.
Developers: Other Media & Mateusz Stawecki.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: